Five Solas Ministry


Rousas John Rushdoony Systematic Theology IV. 5

Rousas John Rushdoony Systematic Theology IV. 5


Rousas John Rushdoony

Systematic Theology, Volume I, Vallecito, California: Ross House Books, 1994, pp.171-223

1. The Doctrine of God
2. The Trinity and Subordination
3. God, Logic and Reality
4. The Incomprehensibility of God
5. God’s Eternalness
6. The Aseity of God
7. Idolatry
8. God the Father
9. God the Son
10. God the Spirit
11. Sovereignty, Government, and Providence
12. God and Creation
13. Predestination
14. “Why Hast Thou Made Me Thus?”


5. God’s Eternalness

 Turning again to Exodus 3:13-15, we find that God speaks of Himself as the “I AM THAT I AM,” i.e., as the eternal one. The triune God is “the same yesterday, and to-day, and for ever” (Heb. 13:8). In past, present, and future, He is still the same, for He is “the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty” (Rev. 1:8). He is beyond time. Time means change, but God the Lord does not change (Mai. 3:6). Because God is the creator of time and the universe, all things in time and space are open and naked to His sight. “Known unto God are all his works from the beginning of the world” (Acts 15:18). (p.183)